Sister Abigail Has Received Her Master’s of Shamanism!

I am enrolled and taking courses at The Universal Life Church Seminary.  While a lot has been said about this church and its ministers Rev. Amy Long the founder (of the seminary) has far exceeded the requirements necessary to take ULC Ministers to the next level of credibility.  Be sure to visit the seminary website and even get enrolled in some of the courses.  Here is the website – http://www.ulcseminary.org/.

Since I am an interfaith minister and The Sister Abigail Show is an outreach of an Interfaith Ministry I thought if would be beneficial to share with you about where I am presently taking classes.  I also thought that you would be interested in my final essay.

spiral-shells

Master of Shamanism

Sister Abigail Hester

I have always enjoyed each of the classes that I have attended at The Universal Life Church Seminary.  The courses are all very thorough and informative.  The course consist of numerous lessons and resources to be used in our research of the topic at hand.  The Master of Shamanism Course is the third course I have taken at the Seminary.  I have completed the Master of Metaphysical Healing as well as the Master of Comparative Religion courses.  I am always blown away at all of the new things that I learn in each course.  I must say that I have become quite the knowledge junkie.

Shamans believe that the physical world in which we live is teamed with invisible forces (or spirits) that have various effects on our lives.  While there are many Shaman that operate within different culture, lore or myth there is a consistency that is hard to overlook.  There is a universality about the phenomenon.

Shamanistic practices predates all religion.  Aspects of Shamanism can be seen in organized religion.  One example the course gave was that of the transubstantiation of bread and wine in the Catholic religion.  Is this suggestive  of the use of psychedelic substances to obtain spiritual revelation?

There are two unifying assumptions of the Shaman.  This I find very interesting considering they are consistent even without communication or the internet.  While the myth conveyed are different given the context and location of the differing Shaman their assumptions are the same.  The two unifying assumptions are:

– Everything that exist is alive.

– Everything can be communicated with if approached properly.

I believe both of these assumptions.  When you believe everything to be alive (every rock, every tree, every plant, the soil, the water, etc) and that everything can be communicated with it allows you to weave the web of life and live in the present moment with awareness.  This is much different than what we have come accustom to in the hussle and bussle of our lives.  We have a lot we can learn from the Shaman.

I have learned much in this course that I already know will become useful in my life and ministry.  I would gladly recommend this course to my friends and whomever else may be interested in this topic.

 

 

12 thoughts on “Sister Abigail Has Received Her Master’s of Shamanism!”

  1. You wrote: “Shamanistic practices predates all religion. Aspects of Shamanism can be seen in organized religion. One example the course gave was that of the transubstantiation of bread and wine in the Catholic religion. Is this suggestive of the use of psychedelic substances to obtain spiritual revelation?”…since I was raised Catholic, I found this an interesting view. I am sure much of religion has borrowed from practices by pagans and quite possibly Shamanistic practices. I feel whatever brings us to wholeness and care for one another is acceptable to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Does the Shamanistic belief that everything that exists is alive include only naturally occurring things like the plants, etc, you list? Or do Shamans believe inanimate, man-made objects are alive as well? Thanks for the clarification!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “All objects in the physical world have “spirit.” It is the spirit that is the source of power. Shamans communicate with the spirit of both living and (what most would consider) non-living things. Through this communication they gain an understanding of the world around them and the more you learn the more power you have to draw from.” – http://wicca.com/celtic/wyldkat/pwrspirit.htm

      Thanks for your comment and question. I hope the above will be useful to you in clarifying my post.

      I was speaking speaking only of naturally occurring things. Blessings!

      Like

    1. Yes that is what I was taught in the course. One thing I know for sure is that living awareness of the web of life has dramatically changed my spirituality and my theology. I love how you said “all pathways devoted to the light end at the same destination”. You have an interfaith spirit. Thanks for visiting The Sister Abigail Show. Peace, Love & Light!

      PS I have one other post related to shamanism on my blog that you can find at the below link:

      http://thesisterabigailshow.com/tag/shamanism/

      Like

  3. When we do what we truly Love, it will take us where we need to go. Thank you for the follow and the spiritual love you have shared throughout your life of which your blog is a fine record. Scott

    Like

Leave a Reply

